Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The anatomy of deception : [a novel of suspense]
2008
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find it! Availability' section below.
Find it! Availability
Annotations

Nineteenth-century Philadelphia physician Ephraim Carroll draws on the new techniques of forensic medicine to investigate the brutal murder of a beautiful young woman and the horror that led to her death, in a historical thriller populated by such real-life characters as pioneering physicians William Osler and William Stewart Halsted and painter Thomas Eakins. A first novel. 50,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

Nineteenth-century Philadelphia physician Ephraim Carroll draws on the new techniques of forensic medicine to investigate the brutal murder of a beautiful young woman and the horror that led to her death. - (Baker & Taylor)

The Anatomy of Deception is a forensic thriller that thrusts the reader into the operating rooms, drawing rooms, and back alleys of 1889 Philadelphia, as a young doctor grapples with the principles of scientific process to track a daring killer.
In the morgue of a Philadelphia hospital, a group of physicians open a coffin and uncover the corpse of a beautiful young woman. What they see takes their breath away. Within days one of them strongly suspects that he knows the woman's identity ... and the horrifying events that led to her death.
Dr. Ephraim Carroll came to Philadelphia to study with a leading professor, the brilliant William Osler, believing that he would gain the power to save countless lives. As America hurtles toward a new century, medicine is changing rapidly, in part due to the legalization of autopsy - a crime only a few years before. But Carroll and his mentor are at odds over what they glimpsed that morning in the hospital's Dead House. And when a second mysterious death is determined to have been a ruthless murder, Carroll can feel the darkness gathering around him - and he ignites an investigation of his own.
Soon he is moving between the realm of elite medicine, Philadelphia high society, and a teeming badlands of criminality and sexual depravity along the city's fetid waterfront. With a wealthy, seductive woman clouding his vision, the controversial artist Thomas Eakins sowing scandal, and the secrets of the nation's powerful surgeons unraveling around him, Carroll is forced to confront an agonizing moral choice - between exposing a killer, undoing a wrong, and, quite possibly, protecting the future of medicine itself. - (Blackwell North Amer)

A mesmerizing forensic thriller that thrusts the reader into the operating rooms, drawing rooms, and back alleys of 1889 Philadelphia, as a young doctor grapples with the principles of scientific process to track a daring killer

In the morgue of a Philadelphia hospital, a group of physicians open a coffin and uncover the corpse of a beautiful young woman. What they see takes their breath away. Within days, one of them strongly suspects that he knows the woman’s identity…and the horrifying events that led to her death. But in this richly atmospheric novel–an ingenious blend of history, suspense and early forensic science–the most compelling chapter is yet to come, as young Ephraim Carroll is plunged into a maze of murder, secrets and unimaginable crimes....

Dr. Ephraim Carroll came to Philadelphia to study with a leading professor, the brilliant William Osler, believing that he would gain the power to save countless lives. As America hurtles toward a new century, medicine is changing rapidly, in part due to the legalization of autopsy–a crime only a few years before. But Carroll and his mentor are at odds over what they glimpsed that morning in the hospital’s Dead House. And when a second mysterious death is determined to have been a ruthless murder, Carroll can feel the darkness gathering around him–and he ignites an investigation of his own.

Soon he is moving between the realm of elite medicine, Philadelphia high society, and a teeming badlands of criminality and sexual depravity along the city’s fetid waterfront. With a wealthy, seductive woman clouding his vision, the controversial artist Thomas Eakins sowing scandal, and the secrets of the nation’s powerful surgeons unraveling around him, Carroll is forced to confront an agonizing moral choice–between exposing a killer, undoing a wrong, and, quite possibly, protecting the future of medicine itself…. - (Random House, Inc.)

Author Biography

Lawrence Goldstone, with his wife Nancy, is the author of two critically acclaimed narrative histories of science. He has written for the Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Miami Herald. He lives in Westport, Connecticut. - (Random House, Inc.)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

This mystery-cum-medical-history brings to life the adage 'First, do no harm.' Dr. Ephraim Carroll observes several controversial autopsies while studying under the great William Osler in late-nineteenth-century Philadelphia. When an open cooler reveals the next cadaver a young woman Osler's face goes ashen, and the class ends abruptly. Following this odd occurrence, Carroll visits an unsavory part of town and catches an enigmatic glimpse of an angry Osler in a bar. Carroll's suspicious nature leads him to make wild conjectures to explain these events and later developments; often, he is right. Goldstone's plot is not particularly original; what makes his book so fascinating is the attention to the medical procedures and innovations of the time: rubber gloves, mosquito clamps, 'Dead House' autopsies, and experiments with anesthesia in surgery. Famous doctors such as Osler and William Stewart Halsted are portrayed complete with their selfish motivations, addictions, and unethical behavior. Readers who enjoy Anne Perry's and Caleb Carr's psychological thrillers will welcome Goldstone's brooding, paranoiac addition to the genre. Copyright 2007 Booklist Reviews.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1