Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Furia : a novel
2020
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where Is It?' section below.
Where Is It?
Annotations

Seventeen-year-old Camila Hassan, a rising soccer star in Rosario, Argentina, dreams of playing professionally, in defiance of her fathers' wishes and at the risk of her budding romance with Diego. - (Baker & Taylor)

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line'even her blooming love story'to follow her dreams. - (Workman Press.)

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK
Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal

One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020
A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library 


'An engrossing #OwnVoices novel."
'PopSugar

'this book will set your dreams on fire . . . It's fabulous.' 
' Reese Witherspoon

A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line'even her blooming love story'to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother's narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother's shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. 
 
On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she'd get an athletic scholarship to a North American university.
 
But the path ahead isn't easy. Her parents don't know about her passion. They wouldn't allow a girl to play fútbol'and she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn't have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren't the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her.
 
Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl's journey to make her life her own.
- (Workman Press.)

Author Biography

Yamile (sha-MEE-lay) Saied Méndez is a fútbol-obsessed Argentine American who loves meteor showers, summer, astrology, and pizza. She lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and their five kids, two adorable dogs, and one majestic cat. An inaugural Walter Dean Myers Grant recipient, she's a graduate of Voices of Our Nations (VONA) and the MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Méndez is also part of Las Musas, the first collective of women and nonbinary Latinx middle grade and young adult authors. Furia is her first novel for young adult readers. - (Workman Press.)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

This high-energy #OwnVoices novel features ambitious 17-year-old Camila of Rosario, Argentina, whose dream is to be come a fútbolera, or renowned soccer player. To work towards her goal, she must lie to those she loves—and those who might hurt her, like her abusive father—and maintain a double life of obedient daughter and "La Furia," her soccer alias. Written in a relatable first-person perspective, the novel follows Camila's struggles to navigate an upcoming high-stakes tournament as well as the return of her first love, Diego, now a famous international soccer star. With her brother and best friend—and prayers to guardian saints—behind her, Camila pursues her aspirations while escaping her family's overbearing expectations, her father's toxic machismo, and the unceasing string of violence against women in her homeland that threatens her desired career and personal safety. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, her parents crack down, and her love life begins to blossom, Camila must find a way to follow her heart and stay true to herself. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1