Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The strangers
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Availability' section below.
Availability
Map It
Annotations

Receiving reports that three children with their names and birthdates have been kidnapped, three siblings investigate complex codes, hidden rooms and a dangerous secret that turns their lives upside down. By the award-winning author of the Shadow Children series. 150,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook. - (Baker & Taylor)

Told from separate viewpoints, Chess, Emma, and Finn Greystone, ages twelve, ten, and eight, investigate why their mother went missing and uncover their ties to an alternate world. - (Baker & Taylor)

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember! This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It&;s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best&;acting silly and being adored. They&;ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they&;re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They&;re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

* Winter 2018&;2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick * Indie Bestseller * Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads *  PW Best Books 2019 *  Texas Bluebonnet Award List 2020-2021 * 2020 LITA Excellence in Children&;s and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book: The Eleanor Cameron Notable Middle Grade Books List *

- (HARPERCOLL)

Flap Cover Text

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector of his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best&;acting silly and being adored. They&;ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

That changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they&;re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They&;re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

In this absorbing new series about family and friendships, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure. As twists of truth are revealed, it&;s clear Mrs. Greystone is in danger, and the kids must learn to embrace their identities&;flaws and all&;to save her. But how can they bring their mom home when they&;re not sure where home is anymore?

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

With this book, best-selling Haddix launches a new middle-grade series that blends adventure and sf elements into an engrossing mystery. Something strange is going on in the Greystone household. Chess (12), Emma (10), and Finn (8) come home from school one day to find their mother in despair over a news story about a bizarre kidnapping—bizarre because the three children who were taken share the names, ages, and birthdays of the Greystone kids. Then Mrs. Greystone is called suddenly out of town, leaving her kids in the care of a stranger, with nothing but questions and a coded letter. Convinced their mother's in danger, the kids and Natalie (their new caretaker's daughter) set out to crack the code and save Mrs. Greystone. Third-person narratives switch among the Greystone kids, giving readers an intimate sense of their personalities and close sibling bond. The kidnapping alone could have made a compelling mystery, but Haddix throws in secret rooms, alternate realities, and a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: The buzz is high for this new series, which the publisher is betting will bring Haddix "to a new generation of reader." Grades 5-8. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1